Research Partners

Banner Photo: Karen Kelley

Community Organizations

In each partner community we work with local organizations in all phases of planning, facilitating, and reporting on research. This is different for each community and project, but in general this includes seeking guidance and providing frequent updates to:

  • Hamlet Council (or equivalent Municipal government)
  • Hunters and Trappers Association
  • Community Liaison Officer (of the relevant regional Inuit association)
  • Local Schools (Elementary, High School, and/or College)
  • Local Education Authority
  • Local Elders Group
  • Local Heritage Society (or Centre)
  • Local Research Group (or Centre)
  • Among other community-specific organizations relevant to specific topics

Northern Research Organizations

We are collaborators in a number of projects led by northern research organizations, and they are also key partners in some SUN Team projects:

Indigenous Organizations

We regularly seek guidance from, work with, and share our research results with Indigenous organizations in various capacities:

  • Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (Department of Environment, Inuit Qaujisarvingat)
  • Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (Inuvialuit Shared Services Unit)
  • Kativik Regional Government
  • Kitikmeot Inuit Association
  • Kivalliq Inuit Association
  • Nunatsiavut Government
  • Nunavik Marine Region Wildlife Board
  • Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated
  • Qikiqtani Inuit Association
  • Sahtu Renewable Resources Board
  • Torngat Wildlife, Plants and Fisheries Secretariat

Government Departments

Some of our projects involve government researchers or collaborators, and in other cases we receive government funding or other support. Our main government supporters are listed below:

    • Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
    • Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Ice Service, Meteorological Service of Canada, Canadian Centre for Climate Services, Science and Technology Branch, Pond Inlet Research Station)
    • Fisheries and Oceans Canada
    • Innovation, Science, and Economic Development (Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, Networks Centres of Excellence)
    • Natural Resources Canada
    • Parks Canada
    • Polar Knowledge Canada
    • Government of Nunavut (Department of Environment, Climate Change Secretariat, Department of Education, Department of Culture and Heritage)
    • Government of Yukon

Academic Institutions

We have, and continue to, work with researchers at a number of different academic institutions, in Canada and internationally:

    • Carleton University (Department of Geography and Environmental Studies, Geomatics and Cartographic Research Centre)
    • Dalhousie University (Interdisciplinary PhD Program)
    • McMaster University (School of Geography and Earth Sciences, Department of Philosophy, McMaster Centre for Climate Change)
    • Memorial University of Newfoundland (Department of Geography, Labrador Institute)
    • Nunavut Arctic College
    • Nunavut Sivuniksavut
    • Queen’s University (Department of Geography)
    • Saint Mary’s University (Department of Biology)
    • University of Alberta (Faculty of Native Studies)
    • University of Manitoba (Natural Resources Institute)
    • University of Ottawa (Department of Geography, Environment, and Geomatics)
    • University of Waterloo (Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies)
    • University of Toronto (Department of Geography and Planning)
    • University of Toronto Scarborough (Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences)
    • University of Victoria (Department of Geography)
    • Ryerson University (Department of Geography and Environmental Studies)
    • Trent University (Department of Indigenous Studies)
    • Alfred Wegener Institute (Germany)
    • Lincoln University (New Zealand)
    • National Snow and Ice Data Centre at the University of Colorado, Boulder (United States of America)
    • University of Alaska, Fairbanks (United States of America)
    • University of Canterbury & Gateway Antarctica (New Zealand)
    • Universidad de Magallanes (Chile)
    • Wageningen University (The Netherlands)

%d bloggers like this: